header_cropped.PNG

Introducing CUBEC 2021

Advance. Elevate. Innovate.

 

Schedule - Day 1

10:00 AM PST / 

   1:00 PM EST

Opening Remarks

Welcome to CUBEC! We start the conference with a presentation about CUBEC, an overview of the conference, and a presentation from our sponsor, Kardium Inc.

Learn More

10:30 AM PST / 

   1:30 PM EST

Keynote Speaker: Doug Goertzen

A presentation by the president of Kardium Inc. Doug Goertzen about his experience in biomedical engineering, his current work, and his thoughts on the future of biotech.

11:30 AM PST / 

   2:30 PM EST

Academic Research Panel A / B

Professors will discuss their path to academia, their current research, and their thoughts on recent developments in biomedical engineering. The event will feature presentations by the panelists, followed by a moderated Q&A.

12:30 PM PST / 

   3:30 PM EST

Break

30 min break

Learn More

1:00 PM PST / 

   4:00 PM EST

Graduate Student Panel 

A panel of students in graduate school and medical school will answer questions from the audience and provide first-hand insight about their decision to pursue further education, what experiences helped prepare them for their studies, their current day-to-day as students, and more.

1:00 PM PST / 

   4:00 PM EST

Workshop

Applying to CO-OPs? Join us for a Resume Review Workshop hosted by the STEMCELL Technologies CO-OP team. They will provide students looking for co-op and internship positions tips to make their resumé stand-out to recruiters.

2:00 PM PST / 

   5:00 PM EST

Start-Up Panel

A panel of representatives from startup ventures involved in the biomedical and healthcare industry will discuss their start ups and answer questions from the audience, including how they started, how the business operates, what the landscape of biomedical entrepreneurship looks like, and other pertinent topics.

2:00 PM PST / 

   5:00 PM EST

Top Ten Research Papers

Interested in learning more about research in Biomedical Engineering? Join us to learn about the Top 10 Research Papers published in Biomedical Engineering in the last year.

3:00 PM PST / 

   6:00 PM EST

Closing Remarks

Closing remarks for Day 1, an introduction of what's coming on Day 2, followed by a word from our sponsors, the McMaster University Department of Engineering.

Learn More

3:30 PM PST / 

   6:30 PM EST

Student Networking

A chance to meet the other attendees at the conference! Will be held on Gather.Town.

 

Schedule - Day 2

10:00 AM PST / 

   1:00 PM EST

Opening Remarks

Welcome to Day 2! We start with an overview of the day, and a presentation by Annabelle Chu, a commercialization engineer at our sponsor, MOLLI Surgical.

10:30 AM PST / 

   1:30 PM EST

Keynote Speaker: Ananth Ravi

A presentation by Ananth Ravi, the Co-founder and Chief Science & Clinical Officer of MOLLI Surgical, about his experience in biomedical engineering, his current work, and his thoughts on the future of biotech.

11:30 AM PST / 

   2:30 PM EST

Consulting Panels

A panel of representatives from Canadian consulting firms with a focus on life sciences and healthcare consulting services will answer and discuss questions from the audience about their career paths, what their company does, what services they specialize in, and other relevant questions.

11:30 AM PST / 

   2:30 PM EST

Sustainability in Biotechnology

Biomedical engineer Rashmi Prakesh will give an introduction to sustainability in biomedical engineering. This one hour talk will introduce what sustainability means and how it may be incorporated into the design process.

12:30 PM PST / 

   3:30 PM EST

Break

30 min break

Learn More

1:00 PM PST / 

   4:00 PM EST

Industry Panels A / B / C

A panel of representatives from the Canadian biomedical and biotechnological industries will answer and discuss questions from the audience and moderators about their life/education path, what their company does, how to land a career in their industry, and other relevant topics.

2:00 PM PST / 

   5:00 PM EST

Poster Session

Undergraduate researchers from across the country have created video posters about their research. The videos will be posted on our website before and after the conference. Attend this session to meet with the authors and ask them questions. Vote for your favourite poster in our People's Choice Award contest!

3:00 PM PST / 

   6:00 PM EST

Closing Remarks

The award ceremony for the virtual poster session, followed by a summary of the conference, and a word from our sponsor, CCRM. Until next year!

Learn More